IT Advisory & User Groups

Information Technology works with the following advisory and user groups.

IT Advisory Group

In the spring of 2018, SSU established a university-wide IT Advisory Group in response to an IT assessment that was conducted under the leadership of the Provost in the fall of 2017.


The purpose of the group is to provide an advisory governance structure to help IT align with campus priorities. The group is advisory to the cabinet, via the Provost, in helping set IT priorities for the institution. ITAG’s purpose is to discuss, evaluate, recommend and share information and ideas related to the information and communication technologies used within the University. The group is advisory to the CIO, David Chun, who also attends meetings and is part of the group. 


  • Review and prioritize the IT Project List and ensure strategic alignment
  • Oversee the delivery of IT Projects and the effective use of technology resources
  • Manage all IT related audit findings and ensure overall compliance for disaster recovery
  • Review, recommend, and evaluate hardware and software standards
  • Review and evaluate university refresh cycle of hardware replacement
  • Oversee the creation and maintenance of the IT Strategic Plan
  • Direct the activities related to security posture including IT risk assessment
  • Ensures the protection of and access to sensitive data


The advisory group membership is as follows:


Karen Moranski

CIO and Chair:

David Chun

AVP Designees from Each Division:

David Crozier, AVP for Financial Services, Administration & Finance
Ian Hannah, AVP for Advancement Operations, University Advancement
Laura Monje-Paulson, AVP for Student Affairs
Elias Lopez, AVP for Academic Resources, Academic Affairs

Faculty Member:

Sandra Ayala, Associate Professor, School of Education

Student Representative:

Trevor Paige


The group meets monthly, typically on the 1st Monday of the month from 1:00 – 2:00 on Zoom.

Adobe Sign Advisory Group

In the Fall of 2020, oversight of Adobe Sign usage moved to the IT Enterprise Applications team. During the height of Sonoma's fully remote community, supporting a model for Adobe Sign and e-signature capabilities was vital to success campus-wide.


The purpose of the advisory group is to establish best practice utilization of Adobe Sign campus-wide. Representatives advise on recommended usage and set-up which supports ease of use and successful implementation. The Adobe Sign Advisory Group's purpose is to discuss, evaluate, recommend and share information and ideas related to the e-signature needs within the University. The group is advisory to the Director of Enterprise Applications, Jaime Russell, who also attends meetings and is part of the group. 


  • Review and prioritize new features released or identified by the Adobe Sign team
  • Review, recommend, and evaluate standards for utilization
  • Request and/or present demos for under-utilized functionality
  • Raise issues and participate in testing
  • Provide recommendations for needed documentation
  • Review final draft documentation and provide feedback
  • Participate in Adobe Sign accessibility discussions
  • Participate in identifying and prioritizing project requests for Adobe Sign Professional Services 


Adobe Sign Advisory Group members are:

  • Jaime Russell, Enterprise Applications, Academic Affairs (Chair)
  • Megan Christensen, Entrepreneurial Activities, Administration & Finance
  • Koushik Damera, Enterprise Applications, Academic Affairs
  • Christopher Dodge, Strategic Enrollment Management, Academic Affairs
  • Rosemary Galten, Biology Department, Academic Affairs
  • Elisabeth Kettmann, Biology Department, Academic Affairs
  • Ashley Klein, Center for Teaching and Education Technology, Academic Affairs
  • Stephanie Toves, Strategic Enrollment Management, Academic Affairs


The group meets bimonthly, typically on the last Friday of the month from 11:00 – Noon on Zoom.

University Web Team

SSU established the University Web Team in 2007 as part of the University's Web Accessibility Implementation Plan and response to the CSU Accessible Technology Initiative.  The Web Team is a group of key web developers and website content editors responsible for most of the University's public, student and employee-facing websites.  Web Team members usually have responsibility for multiple department websites.  Each division and school has at least one Web Team member.


The mission of the University Web Team is to improve the quality, accessibility and consistency of Sonoma State's websites.  Web Team members meet frequently to share information on current web projects, collaborate in the development of web standards, provide feedback to Information Technology and Strategic Communications.  


  • Share information with the University Web Team about the state of and issues pertaining to SSU websites.
  • Disseminate information back to their divisions, schools and departments about current web issues.
  • Participate as early adopters for new web services.
  • Assist in coordination of new web services for administrative websites.
  • Work to improve accessibility compliance of administrative websites.


Web Team members are:

  • L Kiranmayi Acharya, Admissions
  • Sandy Destiny, Strategic Communications (Co-Chair)
  • Christopher Dodge, Academic Affairs
  • Jana Duncan, School of Arts & Humanities
  • Rosemary Galten, Biology, School of Science & Technology
  • Robert Geiss, Strategic Communications
  • Christine Hayes, University Library  (Co-Chair)
  • Jennifer Haynes, School of Extended & International Education
  • Alicia Hodenfield, Administration & Finance
  • Aidan Humrich, School of Education
  • Elizabeth Jones, School of Education
  • Casey Kelly, Entrepreneurial Activities
  • Shahram Marivani, Engineering/School of Science & Technology
  • Leigh McTaggart, School of Arts & Humanities
  • Geeta Menon, School of Extended & International Education
  • Barbara Moore, Information Technology  (Co-Chair)
  • Aubrielle Russo, Entrepreneurial Activities
  • Jill Siliznoff, School of Social Sciences
  • Adriana Vigil, School of Extended & International Education
  • Karly Wilson, Admissions


The group meets the 4th Tuesday, monthly, 1-2pm.